April 29, 2010

The Tribeca Film Festival doles out some Awards!


2010 World Narrative Competition

  • The Founders Award for Best Narrative FeatureWhen We Leave (Die Fremde), directed and written by Feo Aladag. (Germany).
  • Best New Narrative FilmmakerKim Chapiron for Dog Pound, written by Kim Chapiron and Jeremie Delon. (France).
  • Best Actor in a Narrative Feature FilmEric Elmosnino as Serge Gainsbourg in Gainsbourg, Je t’Aime…Moi Non Plus, directed and written by Joann Sfar. (France).
  • Best Actress in a Narrative Feature FilmSibel Kekilli as Umay in When We Leave (Die Fremde),directed and written by Feo Aladag. (Germany).

The 2010 World Documentary Competition

  • Best Documentary Feature Monica & David, directed by Alexandra Codina. (USA).
  • Best New Documentary Filmmaker Clio Barnard for The Arbor (UK).

New York Competition Categories:

2010 Best New York Narrative Competition

  • Best New York NarrativeMonogamy, directed by Dana Adam Shapiro, written by Dana Adam Shapiro and Evan M. Weiner. (USA).

2010 Best New York Documentary Competition

  • Best New York DocumentaryThe Woodmans, directed by C. Scott Willis. (USA, Italy, China).

Short Film Competition Categories:

2010 Best Narrative Short Competition

  • Best Narrative Short Father Christmas Doesn’t Come Here, directed by Bekhi Sibiya, written by Sibongile Nkosana, Bongi Ndaba. (South Africa).

2010 Best Documentary and Student Short Competition

  • Best Documentary ShortWhite Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug, directed and written by Travis Senger. (USA).

  • Student Visionary Awardsome boys don’t leave, directed by Maggie Kiley, written by Matthew Mullen, Maggie Kiley. (USA).


The 2010 Tribeca Film Festival Virtual winners were voted on by the TFF Virtual premiumpassholders.

  • Tribeca Film Festival VIRTUAL Best Feature Film: Spork, directed and written by J. B. Ghuman, Jr. (USA).
  • Tribeca Film Festival VIRTUAL Best Short Film: Delilah, Before, directed Melanie Schiele.

1 comment:

  1. Next year I hope to go and cover it for the site, so be on the lookout for that in 2011!