October 16, 2009

The 65 Countries (and films) in the hunt for the Foreign Language Oscar

They all can be found here, from the official press release. Most of the expected films that we've been tracking are there, though I couldn't tell you for the life of me which five will make the cut, so you be the judge...
-Which of those films do you think have the best shot at a nomination?

1 comment:

  1. in case anyone doesn't want to follow the link, here are all the films in contention:

    Albania, “Alive!,” Artan Minarolli, director;
    Argentina, “El Secreto de Sus Ojos,” Juan Jose Campanella, director;
    Armenia, “Autumn of the Magician,” Rouben Kevorkov and Vaheh Kevorkov, directors;
    Australia, “Samson & Delilah,” Warwick Thornton, director;
    Austria, “For a Moment Freedom,” Arash T. Riahi, director;
    Bangladesh, “Beyond the Circle,” Golam Rabbany Biplob, director;
    Belgium, “The Misfortunates,” Felix van Groeningen, director;
    Bolivia, “Zona Sur,” Juan Carlos Valdivia, director;
    Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Nightguards,” Namik Kabil, director;
    Brazil, “Time of Fear,” Sergio Rezende, director;
    Bulgaria, “The World Is Big and Salvation Lurks around the Corner,” Stephan Komandarev, director;
    Canada, “I Killed My Mother,” Xavier Dolan, director;
    Chile, “Dawson, Isla 10,” Miguel Littin, director;
    China, “Forever Enthralled,” Chen Kaige, director;
    Colombia, “The Wind Journeys,” Ciro Guerra, director;
    Croatia, “Donkey,” Antonio Nuic, director;
    Cuba, “Fallen Gods,” Ernesto Daranas, director;
    Czech Republic, “Protektor,” Marek Najbrt, director;
    Denmark, “Terribly Happy,” Henrik Ruben Genz, director;
    Estonia, “December Heat,” Asko Kase, director;
    Finland, “Letters to Father Jacob,” Klaus Haro, director;
    France, “Un Prophete,” Jacques Audiard, director;
    Georgia, “The Other Bank,” George Ovashvili, director;
    Germany, “The White Ribbon,” Michael Haneke, director;
    Greece, “Slaves in Their Bonds,” Tony Lykouressis, director;
    Hong Kong, “Prince of Tears,” Yonfan, director;
    Hungary, “Chameleon,” Krisztina Goda, director;
    Iceland, “Reykjavik-Rotterdam,” Oskar Jonasson, director;
    India, “Harishchandrachi Factory,” Paresh Mokashi, director;
    Indonesia, “Jamila and the President,” Ratna Sarumpaet;
    Iran, “About Elly,” Asghar Farhadi, director;
    Israel, “Ajami,” Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani, director;
    Italy, “Baaria,” Giuseppe Tornatore, director;
    Japan, “Nobody to Watch over Me,” Ryoichi Kimizuka, director;
    Kazakhstan, “Kelin,” Ermek Tursunov, director;
    Korea, “Mother,” Joon-ho Bong, director;
    Lithuania, “Vortex,” Gytis Luksas, director;
    Luxembourg, “Refractaire,” Nicolas Steil, director;
    Macedonia, “Wingless,” Ivo Trajkov, director;
    Mexico, “Backyard,” Carlos Carrera, director;
    Morocco, “Casanegra,” Nour-Eddine Lakhmari, director;
    The Netherlands, “Winter in Wartime,” Martin Koolhoven, director;
    Norway, “Max Manus,” Espen Sandberg and Joachim Roenning, directors;
    Peru, “The Milk of Sorrow,” Claudia Llosa, director;
    Philippines, “Grandpa Is Dead,” Soxie H. Topacio, director;
    Poland, “Reverse,” Borys Lankosz, director;
    Portugal, “Doomed Love,” Mario Barroso, director;
    Puerto Rico, “Kabo and Platon,” Edmundo H. Rodriguez, director;
    Romania, “Police, Adjective,” Corneliu Porumboiu, director;
    Russia, “Ward No. 6,” Karen Shakhnazarov, director;
    Serbia, “St. George Shoots the Dragon,” Srdjan Dragojevic, director;
    Slovakia, “Broken Promise,” Jiri Chlumsky, director;
    Slovenia, “Landscape No. 2,” Vinko Moderndorfer, director;
    South Africa, “White Wedding,” Jann Turner, director;
    Spain, “The Dancer and the Thief,” Fernando Trueba, director;
    Sri Lanka, “The Road from Elephant Pass,” Chandran Rutnam;
    Sweden, “Involuntary,” Ruben Ostlund, director;
    Switzerland, “Home,” Ursula Meier, director;
    Taiwan, “No Puedo Vivir sin Ti,” Leon Dai, director;
    Thailand, “Best of Times,” Yongyoot Thongkongtoon, director;
    Turkey, “I Saw the Sun,” Mahsun Kirmizigul, director;
    United Kingdom, “Afghan Star,” Havana Marking, director;
    Uruguay, “Bad Day for Fishing,” Alvaro Brechner, director;
    Venezuela, “Libertador Morales, El Justiciero,” Efterpi Charalambidis, director;
    Vietnam, “Don’t Burn It,” Dang Nhat Minh.